Earthpages.ca

Think Free

Puja – ritual devotion

2 Comments


English: Durga Puja, 1809 watercolour painting...

Durga Puja, 1809 watercolour painting in Patna Style. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A puja is a ritualized form of Hindu devotion, conducted either privately at home by oneself or publicly in group festivals (e.g. Durga Puja). Puja may be directed toward God or to honorable people or occasions. It also occurs in Buddhism, Jainism and Sikhism.

I remember when I had returned home after being a student for a couple of years in India. An Indian person with whom I had corresponded wrote, “I hope by now you recognize the value of puja!”

It seemed the premise was that, as a Westerner, I was spiritually underdeveloped upon arriving in India. And after leaving, I had learned the basics of what makes Indian spirituality tick. This wasn’t totally wrong. But it could have implied an unwarranted simplification. Many Western people are incredibly spiritual. Yet this takes a different form, I think, that the obvious, in-your-face spirituality found throughout India.¹

It took me a while to see this. But now I believe there are many ways to be devotional, contemplative and reverential—not just the traditional ways.

¹ Walking by one classroom in India, I heard students being indoctrinated by a professor saying:

In India we are…

SPIRITUAL (the class replied in unison)

And the West is…

MATERIALISTIC (the class replied in unison)

Thankfully, they weren’t all like that. And some professors were exceptionally good.

Related posts » Shinto, Yoga

We Are In A Great Spiritual Battle! This Is For Those Fighting The Spiritual Battle & Those Who Seek To Answer God’s Call

3 Magick Mantras for Focusing Your Mind

Indestructible truth the living spirituality of tibetan buddhism

Exploring India by Motorcycle

Meditation as Stress Relief for Students

Top 10 Books on Success Mindset Every Solopreneur Should Read

Emotionally healthy spirituality course workbook its impossible to be spiritually mature while remaining emotionally immature

What is the difference between a talent and a spiritual gift?

God in the family.

Spiritual Warfare in Marriage, Family, and Vocation

Author: Earthpages.ca

Earthpages.ca is about dialogue, understanding and positive change. Write as many entries as you like. We're not afraid of new ideas!

2 thoughts on “Puja – ritual devotion

  1. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Rarely do I encounter
    a blog that’s equally educative and amusing,
    and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The issue
    is something that not enough men and women are
    speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy I came across this in my search for something concerning this.

    Like

What are you thinking?

