Earthpages.ca

Think Free

Sutra

4 Comments


A sutra (Sanskrit = thread, twine, string; related to woven) is a highly condensed verse, loaded with spiritual significance for believers, respectively, in Hindu, Buddhist and Jain sacred scripture.

The Hindu Upanisads (end of the Veda) are written in sutra form. Each sutra properly corresponds to a specific Veda.

Detail of Elder Subhuti, from the famous Dunhu...

Detail of Elder Subhuti, from the famous Dunhuang Diamond Sutra (Vajracchedikā Prajñāpāramitā Sūtra), the first known printed book. The picture is derived from the second chapter, in which Subhuti asked the Buddha how bodhisattvas can achieve enlightenment. “From the midst of the great multitude, Elder Subhūti arose from his seat, bared his right shoulder, and placed his right knee on the ground. With his hands joined together in respect, he addressed the Buddha…” (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Related » Ahimsa, Diamond Sutra, Heart Sutra, Raja-yoga, Sankara

Note – This is another mini entry from the far back of our catalog. We’re now updating the very oldest entries at earthpages.ca. Some of these have been neglected, perhaps because I wasn’t terribly interested in them anymore, or perhaps because I just didn’t feel ready to add any more info, or perhaps because they were “stubs,” as Wikipedia puts it, that are more fully explained by clicking on related entries (listed at bottom). Rather than ignore and leave these short entries at the far back of the blog (almost limbo), I thought it would be refreshing to update, as I say, from the very oldest entries.

Author: Earthpages.ca

Earthpages.ca is about dialogue, understanding and positive change. Write as many entries as you like. We're not afraid of new ideas!

4 thoughts on “Sutra

  1. Hello,
    My PC worked not correctly, too much mistakes and buggs. Help me, please to fix errors on my computer.
    I used Win Vista.
    With best regards,
    breelfBek

    Like

  2. Just as the auto industry was ripe for change in 1903 when Henry Ford set up Ford Motor Company in Detroit, carmakers again seem on the cusp of revolution.green light auto sales

    Hybrid and pure electric vehicles threaten to overthrow the dynasty of the old internal-combustion engine even as proposed greenhouse-gas legislation would undermine its supremacy. yankton auto sales
    China, Japan, and South Korea are hard at work creating batteries for the green cars of the future. And so is Michigan.

    Having spent more than $700 million in tax incentives since 2006 to attract, retain, and grow battery companies, the state is aiming to become the “advanced battery capital of the world.” There’s wide agreement here on the consequences.

    “We’re faced with either finding new markets for those companies or losing them,” says Greg Main of the Michigan Economic Development Corp. “We can’t be a one-horse town any longer national alamo auto sales in kerrville texas
    ,” said Michael Robinet of auto forecaster CSM Worldwide in Northville, Mich.

    But Detroit’s transition to greener automaking is by no means assured. US battery firms are late to the race. Even if their technology wins, there’s no guarantee that Detroit would beat out California or other states vying for supremacy.

    Like

  3. Greetings!

    I am having a mid survival crisis. I am in my early 40’s and looking to compel a few friends online. I’m kind of a lonely lady and I’d adore to foregather intelligent people.

    Yeap, I characterize myself as I am too old for this stuff, but anyways I desire give it a shot.

    I use Mac and PC computers (in actuality I have 2 of each; yes I am freaky 🙂

    I also like webdesigning, photoshop and adobe fireworks!

    Any suggestions, where to start?

    I wish you all a wonderful afternoon!

    Thanks in advance… and see you around

    Like

  4. Hello !

    I’m new on this forum so I introduce me…

    My name is Jason I’m 19 years old, I’m Deutsch.

    I like: holdem poker and dogs…

    Nice to meet you

    Like

What are you thinking?

