Earthpages.ca

Think Free

Clairsentience

5 Comments


Cover of "Post"

Cover of Post – Amazon – Fair use / fair dealing rationale

Rosemary Ellen Guiley classifies clairsentience as a type of clairvoyance. Clairsentience refers to the alleged extrasensory perception of smell, taste, touch, emotions and physical sensations.

The history of psychology reveals that some researchers held spiritually inclined views towards such phenomena. Charles Mesmer and his followers of Animal Magnetism, for instance, believed that a mysterious, universal cosmic fluid connected all elements of the universe, to include healer and patient.

The “magnetizers” believed that this fluidic substance could be channeled and directed among individuals, the net result being a kind of communication through a fluidic medium of thoughts, emotions and sensations.

This rapport could become so intense that patients sometimes became obsessed with their healer. The condition apparently became even more pronounced when the mystical rapport-at-a-distance had an erotic, sensual component.

The pop singer Bjork perhaps similarly speaks of a mysterious “sex without touching” in her album Post (1995).

Look at the speed out there
It magnetizes me to it
And I have no fear
I’m only into this to

Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy, enjoy.

I wish I’d only look
And didn’t have to touch…
How can I ignore?
This is sex without touching
I’m going to explore

However, it’s difficult to know what alleged mystics are really talking about due to the essentially interior nature of their experience.

But this isn’t just a problem with the inner life of the mystic. Some philosophers of conventional perception contend that a similar problem arises with statements about external reality. For instance, the ‘color inversion’ problem of philosophy asks whether one person’s perception of the color ‘x’ is another’s perception of the color ‘y.’ Until advanced neurological transplants become commonplace, we’ll probably never know. And even then, we still might not.

Related Posts » Clairaudience

Author: Earthpages.ca

Earthpages.ca is about dialogue, understanding and positive change. Write as many entries as you like. We're not afraid of new ideas!

5 thoughts on “Clairsentience

  1. This is interesting. Being an empath or clairsentient, I didn’t realize there was a psychology related to this, only that I was experiencing it. I wrote about a couple of my extraordinary experiences on my website. I would be interested in more about the psychology.

    Like

    • Lea, IMHO psychology and parapsychology are often intimately related. I believe our psychological underpinnings can color our interpretation of paranormal events. But our psychological makeup can also make us open to “more than this.” Ultimately, God is behind it all, I’d say. Sorry for the delay…..

      Like

  2. I enjoyed reading your article. From my research I found that empathy is genetic. Many channeled messages speak a lot about empathy and something in the DNA. Clairsentience is what comes of developing your empathy. So I guess you could say that a developed empath is clairsentient. But someone who is clairsentient could experience by clairvoyance, clairaudience, clear-sensing, just knowning, etc. So clairsentience if develop fully would by a psychic expereinces through several senses at once. I do beleive neurologically speaking there most be something specific going that ties in here.
    Sherry

    Like

  3. Sherry, thanks for your comments. The entries here without images are slated for revision, so I’ll certainly take your insights into consideration.

    I’m just back from almost three weeks vacation (away from the web) so will stop here for now.

    Part of me is still in the wilds of Georgian Bay!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Empathy, Clairsentience, & Psychometry « Empathic Perspectives

What are you thinking?

